Formula E: How it all began

In 2012, the concept of all-electric international single-seater racing was born. FIA President Jean Todt developed the idea as a means to demonstrate the potential of sustainable mobility. Inspired by this vision, Formula E founder and CEO Alejandro Agag created a global entertainment brand with motor racing at its heart, and which redefines the boundaries of this motor sport. Formula E represents an unparalleled combination of entertainment, sustainability, technology and innovation.

In the debut season 2014/15, all teams competed using the same type of vehicle – the Spark-Renault SRT_01E, which was presented at the IAA (International Motor Show Germany) in September 2013. Starting from the second series, other manufacturers could homologate vehicles for competing in this championship. But not the batteries – unit batteries are still used.

Since making its global debut in the grounds of the Olympic Park in Beijing in 2014, Formula E has become a destination for the world’s best drivers, teams and manufacturers. Now in its Fourth season, the Championship boasts one of the best driver line-ups in motorsport, with an exciting calendar of host cities and increasingly innovative technology on the track.

Ten teams currently compete. Each team has two drivers and four cars. Furthermore, the number of team members on race days is strictly limited. Teams are only permitted two racing engineers, one data engineer, four mechanics and a team manager. Beginning with the 2018/19 season, the starting grid will be expanded to take in twelve teams.

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship takes place on city circuits in global cities. In this way, Formula E brings its racing direct to fans, as well as reaching audiences other than purely motor sports enthusiasts. These include those interested in sustainability, the digital generation and families. The series aims to increase people’s awareness of climate change. The course should be 2.5 to 3 kilometres long.

On 9 January 2018 it was announced that ABB will become the series’ title sponsor, meaning that with immediate effect it is known as the ABB FIA Formula E Championship.